Chakra Dressing: Solar Plexus

         Oh my goodness. Fashion Spirit Cards one week and chakra dressing the next? Let me interview myself for a minute… Are you serious?  “Yes, I’m completely serious.” Accompany me on this mystic journey of adornment, please. Look; I even had to add another category at the top of the page – “SPIRIT”!

I used to only notice talk of chakras as part of a joke making fun of west coast living. In another chapter many years later, I struggled to keep up with one of my first meditation lessons from a healer friend, thinking, “Chakras? What? Oh, I’ll try to remember those colors later.” Eventually, as a visual artist I asked her to show me what kind of blue is the blue chakra. “Oh, more of a turquoise? I can get into that.” I was trying to get a handle on it all. In Indian/Ayurvedic thought, chakras are the seven main centers or wheels of energy in our bodies that align up and down the spine. Read a more in depth explanation here.

Eventually, I got all the colors down in my visual meditation. I could remember the meanings of green, blue, indigo, and violet. However, I could not remember the meanings of the first three – red, orange, and yellow. Every time I would contemplate those areas and colors I would think, oh yeah, I have to look those up later. Years went by, and I didn’t look them up. My excuse to myself was that I was doing important work up there with green, blue, indigo and violet and that I couldn’t really take on anymore.

Finally, I thought of these missing pieces when I wasn’t meditating. I looked them up, and guess what! Well, I was shocked that I had been missing these important areas because I really needed to strengthen them!

I don’t wear yellow or gold a lot, and I wasn’t thinking about the solar plexus on this particular day as I put my outfit together, but as soon as I saw the photos – while still sitting on the beach – I got so excited because I wondered if maybe I had subconsciously chosen to wear all these pieces of yellow because I had been really focusing on the solar plexus for the past three weeks in my meditations. Then, the idea occurred to me that one could purposely dress to focus on a certain chakra. Even more exciting! Oh, the powers we have! The possibilities!

In short, the solar plexus – the yellow part of the chakra system – is about your personal power, your perception of who you are. I feel it is best explained here. I found a different site where one healing strategy is to surround yourself with more yellow, so why not wear it?

I had been feeling a pang of anxiety in this spot every 30 minutes or so for a couple days when I decided to look into this chakra. Once I knew what it was all about, the fact that I was feeling something there totally made sense based on what was going on in my life. During the school year I had been very focused on being open to messages about where my journey was taking me professionally for months. Then, as my busiest teaching season started (summer), I stopped asking. I stopped listening. Sure enough, as soon as the workload lessoned, I felt this pang of anxiety in that spot just below my ribcage. It was like someone ringing a doorbell. I also started to notice 11:11 everywhere. That had not happened for a while. Even the cashier at Trader Joe’s said, “Hey, I’ve never seen this before!” He showed me my receipt, and there it was. The total was $111.11. Wow. Read more about 11:11 here, to see if these interpretations resonate with you.

As soon as I educated myself about the solar plexus, followed some of the ideas I found about how to strengthen this area (through meditation, writing,  yoga), the anxiety went away. A couple of days of focus, and I dropped the ball, and the little doorbell started ringing again. So, I got back on track. With this area strengthened, I had the courage to do more space clearing in my life, see with more clarity what I want to put my energy into, and have been able to attract opportunities aligned with my goals. Today I am wearing yellow again… and I feel like I am right where I need to be.

Chakra dressing. Who knew? Now, my closet being color coded makes even more sense! If you try putting your outfit together based on what chakra you are focusing on, let me know in the comments. I’d love to know if you feel it makes a difference for you.

Photographs by Evan Hartzell

Umbrella from Chinatown, Los Angeles – similar here, sweater is thrift store find (Forever 21), skirt is by Carolina, bag by Bee, Bark, & Moss.

6 thoughts on “Chakra Dressing: Solar Plexus

  1. twotreesherbals

    You are on FIRE lately! I think you are really on to something—adornment as meditation, mind-focusing-aid, and tangible connection to spirit. I dressed in 1920’s flapper clothes, hair, even makeup last night for a dinner theater, and it worked like psychodrama to help me transcend my anxieties and fears about the present moment by taking my mind, through my body, into the past. Perspective. Amazing. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Sade in my Day | Clothes Stories

  3. Pingback: Chakra Necklace and Guru Dog | Clothes Stories

Leave a Reply

