Pacific City k-blamo!

We have this thing we do where we record a k-blamo track and then we “perform” it in front of an establishment with an interesting name. When I say interesting, I mean, well, the kind of names that are hard to believe exist. I think the whole idea for this started when we saw a new restaurant opening under the name “Oops”. Life is stranger than fiction.

photo (6)

This is the “official” k-blamo photo for The Old Crow show. You can’t see any audience members in this photo, unless you count the dog. By the way, the dog loves to chase crows, so this was a perfect show for her to come to.

photo 4 (1)

The Old Crow show was at Pacific City, a new mall in Huntington Beach where I grew up. It’s right next to the ocean. HB was called Pacific City at one time.

photo 2 (2)

Also, did you know that Huntington Beach is not only “Surf City”, but in 1993 was named “America’s Safest City”? What’s more, now it’s trying to break into the “Top Ten Dog Friendly Cities in America”.

photo 3 (1)

I had the best time thrift shopping with my girl, Maureen… and she got me this shirt. SO many times I have searched  my closet looking for this shirt and the whole time it was waiting for me at the Goodwill! Well, not the whole time.

photo 2 (3)

Daisy Doodle! I found her on youtube. Doodle obsession. Don’t know what came over me. I wasn’t even a dog person. Now I always have a baby!

A few words about jump suits. I have a thing for uniforms. Usually, that means military, but in my case it means service uniforms. I like the disguise element. But then again, I am also partial to communist scout uniforms and lab coats from around the world, so I don’t know what’s up with that. School uniforms are cool, too. Okay, fine. I am partial to all kinds of uniforms. Banksy says the easiest way to get away with something is to put on one of those reflective vests, a hard hat and carry a clip board. People just think everything is going as planned when they see that. Works every time. Not that I would know because probably the reason I love uniforms so much is because I’ve never had to wear one. The closest I came was the khaki and black dress code at Starbucks when I was just out of college. That was fun for a few months until I got a “real job”. It was the only time I was ever mistaken for a gangster girl.*

Sunglasses by Ray-ban, jumpsuit by Free People, shirt by J.Crew, shoes by Hana Anderson, earrings vintage, necklace from Arroyo Seco Mercantile. Photos by Evan Hartzell.

*No, seriously. I worked at Starbucks on Main Street in Santa Monica, went to the grassy hill above the beach on my break when all these cholas show up dressed similarly. One comes and sits right next to me. “Where you from?” she asks me. “Oh, I live right up there” I answer all Orange County (I grew up in “America’s Safest City”, after all) innocence pointing back behind me. I don’t even know if she nodded before she went back to her friends; she was so disappointed.

One thought on “Pacific City k-blamo!

  1. Pingback: Accept Yourself | Clothes Stories

Leave a Reply

