Spring Bouquets – March Vogue Ads 2016

Hortensia dressing for the Pirate Ball. She knows what she has to do. It will be scary, but she is strong. Alexander McQueen.

I like to make stories up about people I don’t know. Sometimes, my children say, “Mama. Stop making up stories about people you don’t know.” These stories can move me almost to tears sometimes. Driving by the pier, “Look at them. It’s their 50th wedding anniversary, and they’re holding hands. I love them.”

Liquid red flower dress. Divine. By Michael Kors.

Some people just need more sleep, and when you need a lot of sleep – a lot of real R.E.M. – it naturally becomes one of your favorite things in the world… Carina learned a lot about herself in dream world, after all. She was a lucid dreamer, and could solve all the problems of the world while taking a nap in a vintage convertible parked under a Monterrey Pine. Her dream journal lurks in that fancy bag.

JW Anderson.

Thoughts as the photo is taken, “I was serious when I said I wasn’t going back. And you know what else? I’m going to stop telling myself I can’t sing and play bass at the same time. I mean, if I can speak four languages, I should be able to do this.”

This one I am not including because of the clothing, but because the model is not a real person!

Tetsuya Nomura and VW of Square Enix, the Japanese video game and manga creator made the model above. She is obviously holding back an energy force so dangerous it could disturb the perfect dusty rose hair color, not to mention the perfect points of her digital hair style. Oh, and we’re not letting anything get near that third eye head band.

Nancy Gonzalez handbags.

One of the most stylish people I ever knew was from Venezuela. She was in high school with me. Her haircut and coloring were basically this. I’m trying to convince my haircut guy to do this, but he doesn’t know how we are going to get the handbag to stay like that.

I have a whole Pinterest board just dedicated to the “Artist Wardrobe”. This advertisement for Armani sums it up. She’s coming out of the baths at Esalen, where between the roar of the Pacific down below and the healing waters of the natural hot springs the muse has come through. The plan for a spectacular sound installation will be put into action as soon as she gets back to her artist colony in Berlin.

 

I don’t think Lanvin would look good on me, but… I LOVE this ad campaign. It feels like a photo collage or house of mirrors. Her story? “My name is Helene. When I’m not working as a chef in Norway, I’m doing my street stencil art where I go by ‘Quote/Unquote’. The best dream I ever had was that I was actually listening to the entire fictitious album, ‘The Visitor’ from the film, The Man Who Fell to Earth. I was so very sad when I woke up.”

Dress by Chloè for Neiman Marcus ad.

I did a post back in 2011 about fancy painters – painters who look amazingly elegant in the studio. This young woman would fit right in. Either that, or it is some art scene drama, such as “That’s the last time you ditch me for a night with your canvases!” Oh, the art scene drama. It’s so colorful. She’s been working in a DNA lab all day and she doesn’t have time for these kinds of shenanigans.

2 thoughts on “Spring Bouquets – March Vogue Ads 2016

Leave a Reply

