Lora Norton

Lora for Clothes StoriesIMG_5225IMG_5226IMG_5231IMG_5232-0.JPGIMG_5236-0.JPGIMG_5228

Ooh, I’m so excited. I’m making my dreams come true. After the warm up post about the Artist, I am so thrilled to finally be that Clothes Story reporter about town I’ve always wanted to be AND to finally be turning the camera on my many stylish friends across the globe. Yay! First up is my treasured friend of many years, artist, Lora Norton. Lora is my kind of artist because she encourages me to continue to break the boundaries between the many languages of art… while raising a family. Yes, she not only expresses herself through her dynamic outfits (which include some pieces made by herself), but she also paints, draws, writes, designs t shirts, flyers, and sings in a band.  Stories and characters also seem to drive her many art forms. See why I am so inspired? And her house? Oh, vibrant house plants, tropical wall colors, chunky textiles, and fascinating collections create a home that reminds me more than a little bit of some of my favorite houses in Mexico. In Lora’s house, however, the epic record collection and baby doll still lives make it her own.. and her musical family’s own.

When I visited with Lora, we never discussed her outfit which was partly the reason for my visit, but in a way we were discussing her outfit the whole entire time through our many topics of conversationHere are seven topics that I think were secretly really about her outfit.

1.  Her enthusiasm for Youtube videos of older Japanese women folding laundry.

2.  Her Pinterest dreams for her garden (The outdoor one. The indoor one is obviously thriving.).

3.  The wonders of Moroccan oil.

5.  Her ability to attract people with the most fascinating diets. Ha. Um, she has a good sense of humor, by the way.

6.  Her anticipation of seeing the Samurai show at LACMA.

7.  The tempting, oh so tempting lushly printed fabrics found on Etsy that would make more great pillows for her couch.

No, but seriously, here is some solid background on her outfit… straight from Lora. (Once I showed her the list above a few days after our visit, she was forced to give me this top secret info! ;)) Her top is made of a Japanese fabric called shibori. Shibori is a kind of tie dye often done with indigo. (If I could count the number of times different people have said “shibori” to me in the last six months! What is going on??)  Lora says she loves historical clothes and clothes of different cultures. Her “Clothes and Hair” Pinterest board shows a lot of the styles that influence her. For example,  her amber necklace is similar to Tibetan and Nepalese traditional styles and her kimono style top is sort of Japanese. 

 

“Tibetan Losar 2014” by Mr. Sith, from Lora’s Pinterest board

Example of Shibori from Dharma Trading Co.

Check out more of Lora’s unbelievable art here. Check out her transcendent music here. I have barely begun to unearth the wonders of Lora in this post. I have a feeling there will be more of her on Clothes Stories in the months to come.. maybe even a guest blogging post? Wink, wink.

Poster for Chuck Dukowski SEXTET by Lora Norton

One thought on “Lora Norton

  1. Pingback: Create Your World | Clothes Stories

Leave a Reply

